Pre-flight planning is one of the most important steps to a safe flight,
is endorsed by NATS

Read more >


Learn how to reduce the risk of mid-air collision and airspace infringements.

Read more >

View from the cockpit

Join the airfield circuit safely by using a standard overhead join.

Read more >


Listening squawks

NEW listening squawks will be available from 14 September 2017.

The updated card is available here: SQUAWKandLARS(14SEPT2017)

A listening squawk enables an air traffic controller to alert a pilot if their aircraft looks likely to infringe.

Check which listening squawks and frequencies you will need before you take your next flight.

  • Turn on your transponder and select the listening squawk, using ALT (Mode C) if you have it
  • Tune in to the frequency without transmitting
  • Listen out for your callsign or position

Air traffic control will know that you are listening out and can call you on the frequency if you are getting too close to controlled airspace.

Don’t forget to change the transponder code back to 7000 when you leave the area or change frequency.

Squawk changes from 14 September 2017

  • Liverpool – Squawk 5060 on frequency 119.850 MHz
  • Brize Norton  – Squawk 3727 on frequency 119.000 MHz
  • Southend – Squawk 5050 on frequency 130.775 MHz
  • Southampton changed from 0011 to 7011 (frequency remains 120.225 MHz)
  • Bournemouth assumes sole use of 0011 on frequency 119.475 MHz
  • Luton assumes sole use of 0013 on frequency 129.550 MHz
  • Stansted changes from 0013 to 7013 (frequency remains 120.625 MHz)
  • Gatwick changes from 0012 to 7012 (frequency remains 126.825 MHz)
  • London City becomes Thames using 0012 (frequency remains 132.700 MHz)

An updated listening squawk poster is available here: SQUAWK-Who-will-you-be-listening-to(14SEP2017)

Lower Airspace Radar Service (LARS) changes from 14 September 2017

  • East Midlands (134.175 MHz) to 30nm

An updated LARS poster is available here: LARS-who-will-you-be-talking-to(14SEP2017)




New squawks and frequencies are available from 14 September 2017. Listening squawks and LARS by location - download here.